top of page

I want to travel hack with credit cards after becoming debt free

We became debt free around March or April of this year. Now, I want to sort of get into debt with credit cards to travel hack.

Am I making a mistake?

Travel hacking as a professional home organizer

First, I want to say that the debt that we had was not consumer debt, but it was some family loans that were loaned to us after we had some difficulties in life two years ago.

And that's all I'm going to say about that.

I'm writing a blog, but I want to be private and not share ALL the INFORMATION. However, I do want to be transparent and share my life struggles to hopefully help one person by reading my blog.

So, lets get to it. Shall we?

We still have our home mortgage debt and we're not planning on paying that right away. And, since we want to build credit for my husband we have small, tiny loans that we pay on time and pay more than the minimum payment on every month to build his credit.

My credit is fine. Now, we just want to grow his.

So, I love reading and I want to be financially independent so I started reading this book.....

Wait for it...

This book is called...

"I Will Teach You To Be Rich" by Ramit Sethi.

Wow. That book's title can seem schemy and scammy to some, but to me I like this author Ramit. His style is straightforward and blunt, but funny as hell.

To me that is.

Well, let's got into the travel hacking.

So, in his book "I will teach you to be rich" he has a six week program of goals and actions to complete. And one of them is about "Credit Cards."

First, I didn't really want to read this chapter, but then I was no I have to.

Once, I read it. My mind was mindblowned because he made it so simple and right away I started implementing his ideas and his suggestions.

I was already listening to Bigger Pockets Money and other podcasts, youtube videos, etc. So, then this week I heard the podcast Choose FY on travel hacking and that just reinforced it more.

Last, week I had already checked my FICO score and credit history. So, right then I applied for a credit card to travel hack.

And here I am writing about it. There is nothing else. I will see how I use this card. I have to make some purchases and get those points.

Gotta go. I will keep you posted.

bottom of page